Mini-disc player.

Discussion in 'Tech talk' started by Derek marshall, Nov 29, 2020.

1. Derek marshall

Derek marshall Well-Known Member

HELP. My beloved mini-disc player- MZ-E900 which I have been using since the year 2000 has finally given up. I was listening to a disc the other day when a out 1 hour Into the disc it just stopped. I thought it was the gumstick battery but I didn't get the usual beep-beep. A y way I tried another gumstick but no luck. I then tried an AA in the sidecar but no luck. Do not have a 1.5 adaptor so cannot try that. When I press play the red light comes on, the motor starts up for a couple of seconds and then just shuts down. Any ideas what might have happened please.

RTB likes this.
  2. Mister X

Mister X Moderator Staff Member

I have no idea but I'd check the remote first, does it have an internal battery? I'm wondering if the remote jack internal wires frayed.

I had a Sanyo that didn't work, the internal ribbon cable got hard and cracked/broke with opening/closing of the access door.

3. Derek marshall

Hi Mr X. Thanks for reply. I don't use the remotest all because it has internal memory that once you have selected your settings they are stored. Did try remote a d with different batteries- no luck. No internal battery eithergumstick or AA in sidecar. Don't understand what's happened. Playing one minute a d then just stopped. Can't complain after 20 years service. I hope it's not the laser.

4. Jørn Bonne

Jørn Bonne Member