1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Hitachi 3D Collection 2017...getting there !!!

Discussion in 'Best Threads' started by Boombox Taff, May 14, 2017.

1. Boombox Taff

Boombox Taff New Member

I know you guys are not big fans of these boxes, but for me some of them hold memories of the 80's. I knew a few people who had them, the 3D7, 3D8 and 3D80 - the 3D8 in particular as i worked in a factory from 88-90 and the 3D8 was the box we listened to everyday in work, whether a Cassette or Radio.

I want to collect the whole series and getting there, but trying to get mint examples and every function on the box working. I am also trying to get them all boxed with instructions which is going to be difficult.

I've only been collecting since May 2015, and the first box i got was the 3D80
    This is what I have up to now, but still need to take a picture of a new group shot as I have acquired more since i did a video on youtube with all my boxes, which was last summer 2016. I will take another group shot once i get a few more as it takes ages getting them all out together.

So here is what I have so far..

I'll start with the 3D80's.. this is what got me started collecting the 3D series. My very first one is on the front, and in excellent condition. The one on the left back is like new with box but no Instruction manual.

I have finally managed to get a NOS (New Old Stock) the one on the right back row is the NOS with Manual, original speaker decal, warranty card, box and poly inserts. Box is a little faded from storage.

This has twin woofers, and to my ears a nicer top end than the 3D8. Also the bass is more refined as the woofers don't pump as hard as the one in the 3D8, this is my personal favourite in terms of styling and how it sounds.
    3D80 Trio.jpg

This is the top of the back right one.

3D80 Top.JPG