New WM-DD center gear prototype is here (EDIT - final version is here)

Discussion in 'Tech talk' started by mihokm, Dec 11, 2016.

1. uku005

uku005 New Member

Hello, I don't think this is likely the right place to post/ask my question, but, I'll start here and perhaps someone can direct me to the right place.

In short, I have a nice condition boodo khan w/ original box, headphones etc (collection from a passed family member). that I'd like to "gift" to my husband for his birthday. Everything functions except it's got the clicking that is a well-known issue from cracked gear....

I've found the gear part, rubber capstan ring, small reel gears, etc. that are now available (looks like a long time in the making :)) and I've read through the in-depth tutorial that is available. What a great resource, btw!

I'm usually good at paying keen attention to detail and following directions. But, my fear is I have no knowledge of electronics so I'm super scared of messing up something that causes more problems (especially since other than this issue, the wm is in awesome shape). Before I take any action, I thought this might be a great forum to get some advice on whether or not y'all think I could methodically tackle it on my own being a "newbie" to something like this, or if it would be best to find a tech to take on the work...?? Or, am I better off leaving it in the original condition it's in and not really using it??

2. TooCooL4

TooCooL4 Well-Known Member

uku005 it’s not hard to do but if you are not sure, get someone who knows what they are doing to sort it out for you.

If you go in and break something, you could make it worse than it already is. As for not using it, what’s the point of that? Get it fixed and let your husband enjoy using it for it’s intended purpose.

Good luck.

3. Longman

Longman Well-Known Member S2G Supporter

1) Is your husband into such gadgets ?

If not I wouldn't bother