Machaneus

Late 20th Century Audio and Video Storage Devices

Late 20th Century Audio and Video Storage Devices
Machaneus, Jul 5, 2018
lupogtiboy and Boodokhan like this.
    • Longman
      Is that a Sony U-Matic top left ? In the mid 1980s I regularly used one at work.
      We also had this fancy JVC CRT monitor that would do just about any video standard in the world
      Machaneus likes this.
    • Machaneus
      @Longman. Yes , it's a Sony U-matic SP model VP-9000P , a player only machine. It is in literally mint condition.
      I used an Aver Media TvBox to connect it to an early Sony LCD PC monitor from 2003.
      Great picture from a recording on a much earlier Sony U-matic recorder (70's), no compatibility or tracking issues, no fuss at all.
      Solenoids clicking and clacking happily.:)
      Mark P likes this.
    • Mark P
      Hi: I'm new to the forum and joined to keep current with 'tape guys.' Little did I know I'd see a couple of 'old friends.'( I worked as a Colorist in film/video post for 25 years and retired in 2009) I refer to the BetaSP PVM 2800's. These are lower end, but decent quality decks that were a cost effective alternative to the BVW 75. The BVW75 featured DT, dynamic tracking, 4 channels of Dolby audio, LED peak meters and they were built like tanks.
      Another member commented on the U-matic deck.I think it's from the '5 series) but don't quote me. It's a 3/4" analog recorder. BTW, the longest tape length of the 3/4" format was 75min as opposed to BCSP which had a 90min TRT.
      To the OP: Are these decks used by you or part of a vintage collection? Just curious. I 'collect' Uhers, but regularly use a Tascam TSR8 and Teac 3440 w/M2516 board. Usually, it's Cakewalk and Pro Tools. Anyway, some neat stuff here. I also recognize the (IIRC) the BSP 1800's? Those were designed and made for boardrooms and Education facilities. Police departments had em' as did professional body building or 'Spandex 'n' legwarmer' workout studios.