I have decided to sell my entire Walkman collection

Discussion in 'Chat Area' started by givemeyourwalkmans, Jul 15, 2024 at 6:42 AM.

1. givemeyourwalkmans

givemeyourwalkmans Active Member

Not sure even how to start a thread like this but here goes.
    I will use the term "Walkmans" interchangeably below with all personal portable cassette players, not just those made by Sony.

After many years of patiently and carefully collecting Walkmans and spending hundreds of hours and a small fortune of money, acquiring tools, knowledge, service manuals, watching Youtube repair videos and writing hundreds of posts on forums and even building a website. I decided this week to cease from expanding my collection and gradually move toward selling off the models I do still have.

I have been collecting Walkmans now for many years, electing to wait patiently and purchase only absolute "museum-tier" S+ condition units. I grew up in a rainforest with a father who had an analogue recording studio and he listened to everything on cassette tapes. My father started off with vinyls but after the player broke and no one was able to fix it he bought a stacked dual front loading TEAC tape deck which was the best we could get at the time and he generally fixed that thing more than anything else in the house. Trust me when I say that music was playing at our house practically 24/7. At one point I think it had 4 or 5 stickers on the back from different times/years that it had been professionally repaired. I knew at a young age that cassettes took a lot of work and I butchered many of his tapes by pulling out the tape or dropping them and so on. My father recorded many albums and even people he picked right off the street busking, giving them a pretty unique first professional experience in a studio on cassette. He even managed to record a couple of people who are now pretty famous. Shortly before he retired he moved to "digital cassette" with the purchase of a TASCAM DA-78HR. After retirem