Issues with SONY WM-D6C

Discussion in 'Introducing myself' started by valeriolg, Jan 30, 2024.

Tags:
  1. valeriolg

valeriolg New Member

Hello! Unfortunately my SONY Walkman WM-D6C is not working anymore. It had a very loud sound while fast forwarding the cassette, but the repair man did even worst and now the walkman doesn't even turn on. Is there someone that can help?

2. Valentin

Valentin Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome to the forum !

There are a few people who can help here on the forum, including myself.
    What has been done on the walkman exactly ? Was that loud sound mechanical or in the audio ?

valeriolg likes this.
  3. valeriolg

valeriolg New Member

Hi Valentin, thanks for your reply. The loud sound was mechanical, and audible only while fast forwarding the cassette.
    I believe the repair man also used the wrong charger while repairing it and damaged the "speed regulator chip" (sorry I'm not an expert)? Therefore he then tried to change the chip different times but unsuccessfully. He said that he ordered it from China but they were not functional...
    Would you consider the situation salvageable? It's such a nice piece and I spent quite some money on it, it would be a real waste not to save it.
    Thanks, Valerio.

4. Valentin

For the fast forwarding issue, the problem may be a cracked gear on the mechanism. However I will need to actually see the unit to confirm this.

About the CX20084 speed regulator IC, genuine ones are not available anymore, we will need a DD10/DD11 donor unit in bad condition to take the chip from.
    Feel free to send me a private message and we can discuss in more detail there. I think the situation is salvagable.

5. Silverera

Silverera Active Member

6. Silverera

Silverera Active Member