Discussion in 'Introducing myself' started by maximilianrb, Mar 3, 2020.

1. maximilianrb

maximilianrb New Member

Hello everyone I am new to the hifi world and am exited to learn as much as I can! Im from California in the valley. I like thrifting for anything cassette or vinyl. Just recently set up a turn table and cassette deck in my room and am looking forward to upgrading pieces of the puzzle.

2. Longman

Longman Well-Known Member S2G Supporter

Welcome. It is good to see young people still interested in the old formats. When I was your age they were the latest and greatest thing and apart from one new Boombox and one new Sanyo personal stereo I was collecting Tube radios. This morning "The Golden Hour" on the radio was 1992. As I said to a colleague you know you are getting old when 1992 seems like a recent year ! :wink2.

maximilianrb likes this.
  3. Boodokhan

Boodokhan Well-Known Member

hello @maximilianrb and welcome to S2G
    I am from valley too, we might be neighbors :thumbsup2:

maximilianrb likes this.
  4. maximilianrb

maximilianrb New Member

Thank you for the great welcome! about half a year ago I discovered my love for old music formats and older technology. I now have 3 boom boxes three cassette decks and I just got a Fostex R8. Im almost running out of room.

5. maximilianrb

maximilianrb New Member

thats awesome! I live around the Topanga Mall. Boodokhan What do you think about the valley thrift scene?

6. Mister X

Mister X Moderator Staff Member

Keep your eyes open and hit that last garage sale, I used to have great luck finding all kinds of stuff, I don't look as much anymore but I've found a little of everything. Learn how to service the equipment, a nice screwdriver set, multimeter and soldering iron can fix most issues, you can start on the entry level equipment and hone your skills.