Sony DoDeCaHorn boomboxes

Discussion in 'Chat Area' started by allan1836, Dec 17, 2020.

1. allan1836

allan1836 New Member

Hi all ! Newbie here. I need your opinion on the Sony DoDeCaHorn boomboxes of the late 80"s specially the CFD-DW97. I hear comments they are also a beast like the Panasonic eggs. I have a chance to acquire one but can't audition it.
    [​IMG]

Mister X and Mystic Traveller like this.
  2. rupi99

rupi99 Active Member

If the DoDeCaHorn boomboxes are in working condition, I recommend them. I have the two successors CFD-700 and CFD-900. Had to repair the cassette decks, as belts were loose and old grease was sticking. I also had to replace the woofer on the back side, as the edges were broken.
    EB7mzfJUIAY1Klk.jpg

On next picture is (beside others) my CFD-700 with added LED illumination.
    4 Ghettoblaster.jpg CFD-700 LED.jpg

They have a good sound with strong bass.

autoreverser, Mister X and allan1836 like this.
  3. allan1836

allan1836 New Member

Thanks for the heads up on this DoDeCaHorn's (funny name). Are they better sounding than the Panasonic Cobra Eggs ? I have the Panasonic RX-DT7 and DT77 and so far they are the best sounding boomboxes I have heard (alongside the JVC Kaboom B90) . I would wish the Sony to be better sounding and sort of an upgrade.

4. Mister X

Mister X Moderator Staff Member

Those are nonexistent over here but judging by the price they were a premium product. There might be some information on the Japanese Egg Website I posted in the Another Japanese Website Thread. Good Luck, Radio Raheem might have had one, he's a big fan of the Panasonics.

5. allan1836

allan1836 New Member

Ah yes, radio raheem, he's got the TOTL Pana eggs . :omg: I wonder if he has tried a DoDeCaHorns.

6. Radio Raheem

Radio Raheem Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard Allan lad, one answer, jvc rd md5 forget the rest lol.....i love my dt 9's though there is no doubt about that Sir:wink2