Timewarp's Collection

Discussion in 'Gallery' started by Timewarp, Sep 28, 2024.

1. Timewarp

Timewarp Active Member

I intend to post some of my Walkman/Discman/Minidisc/DAT/Scoopman collection over the next few months and look forward to some discussion around them. As an engineer, I focus mainly on the technology and craftsmanship of mechatronics in these wonderful little boxes.

Some I consider true art, a level of brilliant engineering that was at its peak in the 80s and 90s.

I thought it might be a cool idea if I post the devices one at a time, explain what I like about it and what's unique/quirky/differentiating about it.

But first, an impression picture:
    Overview Sept 2024.jpg

Michiel, Emiel, Mister X and 4 others like this.
  2. Timewarp

Timewarp Active Member

I will first explain my personal situation and what got it started.

I loved Sony for its innovation and cool devices as long as I can remember. When I was a little kid, my father bought his first walkman, the most basic version one could buy - a WM-31.
    To be able to listen to music anywhere was a fantastic experience.

My father wanted a radio too, and upgraded to a WM-BF22 soon. At that time he gave me his WM-31, so I was the proud owner of a real Sony Walkman!

This is the very device that started it all for me personally:
    WhatsApp Image 2024-09-28 at 14.53.47_b8748705.jpg

The most basic of basic, but it was a real Sony, while many people had cheap clones back then. I listened to it all the time.

WhatsApp Image 2024-09-28 at 14.53.47_b98d1d70.jpg

This was my father's WM-BF22. I'm glad I still have it as a memory, he passed away a long time ago.

Then I started saving... and saving... because in the Sony brochures, I saw the endless possibilities of cool features such as auto-reverse, mega bass and equalizers.
    I didn't have much budget but finally saved enough to buy a super nice WM-B47:

WhatsApp Image 2024-09-28 at 14.53.48_83445a40.jpg