Walkman EX-655 repair help wanted

Discussion in 'Chat Area' started by Ethan Henning, Dec 31, 2021.

1. Ethan Henning

Ethan Henning New Member

Hello! Not sure if this is the right thread to ask for repair help in, but this is my first time posting in a long time so forgive me. Anyway, I got a Sony Walkman WM-EX655 off eBay. I purchased a battery case for it and a new belt. It was working great with the new belt… and then it wasn’t. I was listening to a tape and the wow and flutter started getting real bad and then the tape stopped and the player kept flipping between side A and B to no avail. I noticed that there was a grinding noise that was getting louder and worse the more I played it. It turned out to be coming from one of the brass capstans. I would appreciate some help on what to do next in reviving this unit. Here’s a photo of the capstan making the grinding noise. 97919473-BEA2-4C48-A6FE-05E393D97390.jpeg

2. Valentin

Valentin Well-Known Member

Can you make a recording of the sound ? Is it the capstan that is making the noise (like metal-on-metal scraping) or is it gear noise ?

3. Ethan Henning

Ethan Henning New Member

It definitely sounds more like metal-on-metal grinding than it does a cracked plastic gear. The grinding got progressively louder until when you would hit play, the tape would just keep flipping between side A and B.

4. Valentin

Metal on metal scraping (I wouldn't call it grinding) can only come from the capstan bushing itslef, which is dry. If that's the case, the solution is to take the cap of the other side with a sharp tool (be VERY careful not to loose it, keep a finger above while removing) and then put oil in the bushing.
    You will need to clean the capstan from oil residue after you do this, otherwise it will contaminate both the tape and pinch roller.