Which one is the MUST HAVE Deck?

Discussion in 'Cassette Decks' started by colimaxp, Mar 21, 2018.

1. colimaxp

colimaxp New Member

I'm new to this and have almost no knowledge at all. Just wondering. I saw some posts online before. People from Europe and America like Nakamichi Dragon more, but people from Asian like AIWA XK-S9000 more. There is also a SONY TC-KA7ES, and some of people say this one is good too.

I'm wondering which deck is a "Must Have" if we don't consider the price.

Thank you

2. autoreverser

autoreverser Well-Known Member

...to me the 1979 austrian EUMIG FL1000 (pic from Eumig-museum):

FL_1000.jpg

when it came out it was considered and tested as best deck in those days,
    even better than a Nak Tri-Tracer (1000zxl).

i would prefer one of those to any Nak, Tandberg, Revox etc...

3. Boodokhan

Boodokhan Well-Known Member

Nakamichi CR-7

Andrew Mcateer and Jorge like this.
  4. Jorge

Jorge Well-Known Member

I will go for Nakamichi ZX-7 or ZX-9, but I'd had to set aside $500-1k to send it for re-belting and re-calibration to ESLabs or WillyHermann

With Tandberg, ReVox, etc I wouldn't even know where to send them, who has spare parts?

Boodokhan likes this.
  5. walkman archive

walkman archive Administrator Staff Member

That is the one million dollar question.
    I'd say the Pioneer CT-93 is very close to the perfect deck. It has a number of features, a top-class mechanism, silent as a Nak and it performs with almost every kind of tape near perfectly that makes me think it's the MUST have deck.
    It's kind of becoming my favorite deck...

Pioneer CT-93 01.JPG Pioneer CT-93 02.JPG Pioneer CT-93 03.JPG

Elite-ist likes this.
  6. Elite-ist

Elite-ist Well-Known Member

The Pioneer Elite/Reference CT-93 is one of the best. You got a hold of a fine example, Hugo.

Nando.

ebuy05 and walkman archive like this.
  7. walkman archive

walkman archive Administrator Staff Member