1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp GF7-R radio works, but tapedeck is dead

Discussion in 'Tech talk' started by Ethan B, Mar 12, 2024.

1. Ethan B

Ethan B New Member

Hi All,
    I have an old Sharp GF-R boombox. The radio works great, but the tape deck seems dead. No movement on play, FF, RW at all. I don't hear the motor running with I push any of those buttons with or with out a tape in it.

Anyone have ideas, tutorials, videos that might be worth while? Or a direction to begin the process of repair?

I'm an amateur. I have soldered before, but it's been a while. If I break it more, it's not a big deal, but you all know how it is... I would love to bring it back to life! I'm just not sure where to begin.

I'm not afraid to take things apart and poke around. Just not sure what I'd need to do.

I'm open to suggestions.
    Here is a link to a video I made showing what's up...

2. Hyperscope

Hyperscope Active Member

Might be as simple as disintegrated belts. At this stage they are going to have to be replaced anyway. Motor may be so quiet it can't be heard, even though it could be turning. What is the exact model from the back of the machine? Sharp GF-A1A(R)? Google is showing some variations but the only one that looks the same is A1A.

Google up the belts and check out what is available. Then do careful searching of your models to see if videos of someone else doing the belt changing is out there. Study all available videos. Google and find discussions of your same model in the various boombox forums. So before you even open it up you know what to expect and what to do. (That's what I do before even thinking about buying a model. I want lots of discussion on forums of that model and youtube videos and complete tear down plus service manual .pdf available, belts available etc, .)

3. Ethan B

Ethan B New Member